This has been an astonishing month. On 22nd December, early morning, I was chatting to Dan Norris on Slack (yes! THAT Dan Norris, who wrote the book “7 Day Startup” that got me started with ClicksAndLeads.com) and he gave me access to his Facebook Ads account.
I have to pinch myself to help me believe it. I was telling him what an influence his book had on me, looked up my first blog post about it and there it was, 22nd December. If I believed in anything except grit and hard work, I would find that a little spooky! If you want to go back and read up on how this all started, check out these links:
What about the business development overall? It’s going GREAT!
After the frighteningly dry spell in October and some of November, with a few enquiries but no new clients at all, I figured I had nothing to lose, so I doubled my fees to weed out the desperate business owner who said they would invest in an ad campaign (fees and click budget) for 3 months but who were actually looking for a miracle in 2 weeks! I’d also gone back to asking for a set up fee, to cover the up-front work involved in researching a market and setting up a campaign.
I was pretty much living on thin air personally during that period, just about covering business overheads, my VA and part time Ads Assistant, with the fees from just a few of stalwart Ads clients and a few “Mastermind” coaching clients. I managed to keep a low level campaign of my own going, gathering new leads and re-marketing to website visitors, and my landing page was starting to work well enough that I could swap to an “optimiSed for leads” campaign too, so my cost of lead was going down.
Also, one of my Ads clients asked me to run a 2 day bootcamp teaching her top level students how to do ads my way (that was fun with the differing levels of business & marketing understanding!) so that helped.
By mid-November I’d attracted a few new clients in the expert/ coach/ consultant space and I was back up to over a $100,000 annual run rate.
AND I have two new revenue /referral streams. I’ve created a new Facebook Ads course, because I had to teach my sister how to do ads so she could backup my existing FB Ads Assistant (“Always have two people who can do any job” – James Schramko). The course I produced for the client in November is already out of date as Facebook keep changing things. She’ll get the new videos too.
The second referral /revenue stream is a “6 Figures In 6 Months” webinar that laid out just how I started and run ClicksAndLeads.com and how any existing business could add a six-figure income stream to their business, by offering Facebook Ads service (but outsourcing it to ClicksAndLeads.com).
Before Christmas, a well-known 7-figure female entrepreneur in the coaching world had asked me to run her ads and paid a deposit to secure her slot in my New Year Schedule (another new process I developed in December when lots of “maybes” looked like they were turning into clients all in the same week!). She then changed her mind, asked for the deposit back (I agreed because she’s quite high profile and I still had hopes she’d come back) but then I saw her ads running just before Christmas.
I emailed her to ask who she’d gone with in the end and was surprised to hear she’d done the ads herself. Then, a week later, in between Christmas and New Year, she popped up on Facebook and asked if I did one-off “Troubleshooting” consultations. I was a bit bored by then, so I agreed, named my fee and we talked for just over an hour, fixing a few things she was doing wrong in her campaign. Within a couple of hours, she’d put a glowing testimonial in a high profile female business women’s group which led to two more consultation enquiries, for two hours each.
I hit the ground running in 2016 with a fully booked up diary – folks who had opted in for the Free Report, or seen my new ads and booked in for a Demo Session. By the end of the first week of January, I’d signed up another £56,000 ($84,000) of business for the year, with over £17,000 ($25,500) of it paid up front.
“Signed up” is too strong a phrase… one client asked me “what do I do next” at the end of our call and when I said “send me an email confirming you want to go ahead” she opened her email and typed it up and sent it right there in front of me!
2016 is shaping up very nicely. I think I might gun for “7 Figures” now by the end of this year. I was aiming for 2 new clients a month to get there in 3 years but it’s actually only 51 clients on the “Start Strong” package and with 2-3 Ads Assistants, I can certainly handle that.
Why only the one champagne glass in the pic? Because I’ve done this 100% on my own and I’m bloody proud of that.
The icing on the cake is that the podcast I co-host with Judith Morgan called “Own It: Your Business & Your Life” has had more downloads in the first week in January, than we normally get in a month!
AND I’ve been named one of the “Top 100 Female Bloggers To Follow” by BirdsOnTheBlog.com – awesome! I’m No 22 but it’s in no particular order.
3 Biggest Challenges
- Qualifying clients so I know they’ll get a positive ROI
- Training new FB Ads Assistants (think I’ll make new videos & sell as front end product)
- Restraining myself from spending all my profits on more bloomin’ ads!
- Facebook Ads & Facebook Re-Marketing
- Word of mouth via existing clients & mailing list
- Our podcast “Own It!” making a big jump from 1500 downloads in a month to the same in ONE WEEK!
- Networking and being helpful in various business and IM related FB groups and startup Slack communities
- Several regular referrers such as Infusionsoft Consultants and professional speakers
- Mentoring people to start their own ClicksAndLeads style business and outsource to us!
Total Income = £10,040 ($15,060 – roughly at conversion rate of 1.5)
Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) = £5000 ($7500 – roughly at conversion rate of 1.5)
January – gone bonkers already!!
Total Income (as of 14th Jan) = £17,842 / $26,763 (ex VAT)
Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) = £7500 ($11,250 – roughly at conversion rate of 1.5)